English

Factors affecting the life of lead-free soldering iron heads, methods of extending life

As the melting temperature of lead-free solder increases, the working temperature also increases, leading to a greatly accelerated corrosion of the soldering iron tip and a shorter service life. This is a reasonable explanation. When lead-free soldering, the required soldering temperature is much higher than ordinary soldering, which is a main reason for shortening the life of the soldering iron tip. The higher the temperature, the faster the oxidation rate. After applying lead-free soldering, why is the tip life shortened?


 The general tip structure is mainly made of copper, and the outside is plated with iron (iron plated layer), and the front part of the iron plated layer is plated with tin (tin plated layer), and the rear end is plated with anti-oxidation chromium. Since tin and iron are also highly active metals, they can easily be combined into mixed metals, especially at high temperatures. And the flux used in soldering is also a catalyst to accelerate their mixed metal reaction. The production speed of mixed metals will vary with different welding temperatures. The higher the temperature, the faster the generation speed, especially at 400 ℃ or above.


When welding, tin and iron will continue to produce a mixed reaction, and because the resulting mixed metal will peel off from the surface of the tip coating, the tip coating will gradually be eroded away, and then tin will quickly attack the copper in the tip In the end, it will cause the welding tip to penetrate the hole in a short time.


影响无铅烙铁头寿命的因素,延长寿命的方法
    Solders with different compositions will have different erosion rates on the tip. The figure above shows that tin +0.7 copper has the fastest erosion rate to the tip, then tin +3.5 silver +0.75 copper, tin +2 silver +0.75 copper +3 bismuth, and finally tin +37 lead. Compared with traditional eutectic solder (67/37 solder), at a soldering temperature of 400 ℃, lead-free solder: tin + 3.5 silver + 0.7 copper, the erosion rate of the nozzle is 3 times faster, and tin + 0.7 copper 4 times faster.
■ Method to extend the life of lead-free soldering iron tip
   

1. When using lead-free solder for soldering operations, due to the heat resistance of the parts and the consideration of safe operation, the setting temperature of the soldering iron tip is generally expected to be below 350 degrees to 370 degrees;

    2. According to the different welding operations of the electric soldering iron, it is very important to choose the most suitable soldering iron tip. A suitable soldering iron tip can reduce the temperature of the soldering iron tip and increase the efficiency of the operation.

    3. Unlike ordinary water-containing sponges, a metal wire that needs to be impregnated with an auxiliary agent does not reduce the temperature of the soldering iron tip, but also plays a cleaning role, and can also remove the oxide on the surface of the soldering iron tip. Set the low temperature of the soldering iron tip as much as possible.

    4. When not using for more than 10 minutes, the power of the electric iron should be cut off.

    5. When the tip of the soldering iron becomes black, first remove the oxide with the solder of the flux. If it cannot be removed, use dip first.

    6. The wire cleaner of the penetration aid removes the oxide on the surface and then coats with new solder.

    In addition to erosion accidents, lead-free soldering also accelerates tip oxidation. Although the temperature required for the formation of lead-free solder joints is higher than that of SnPb solder joints, as far as the industry's usual production capacity requirements are concerned, it is not necessary to increase the temperature of the soldering iron to achieve lead-free soldering; Temperature overshoot improves the heat transfer efficiency of the solder joint and reduces the idle temperature of the soldering iron. In addition, the shape of the soldering iron tip must also be matched to avoid excessive temperatures, otherwise the soldering iron tip will accelerate corrosion, thereby increasing the replacement cost and downtime of the soldering iron tip.

   The soldering iron tip produced by BEE Jimei has reached the advanced level of the introduction of Germany in electroplating technology, and the quality has been improved by leaps and bounds. The crystal structure of our iron layer is fine and dense, and the total plating time is more than 48 hours. The lead-free soldering iron nozzle has the advantages of high temperature resistance, oxidation resistance, corrosion resistance, long life and fast soldering. The service life is more than 60,000 solder joints, and the use time is more than one week.

  • QQ service

  • TaoBao

  • 1688

  • TaoBao

    Long press to identify the QR code
  • 1688

    Long press to identify the QR code

中文站

影响无铅烙铁头寿命的因素,延长寿命的方法 soldering Tip

 由于无铅焊锡时其熔点的提升工作温度也随之加高,导至烙铁咀腐蚀速度大大加快,使用寿命变短,这是合理的解释。无铅焊接时,要求的焊接温度比普通焊接要高出许多,这是烙铁头寿命缩短的一个主因,温度越高,氧化速度越快。应用无铅焊接后,为何焊咀寿命会大幅缩短?

 一般焊咀结构,内部主要由铜制成,外面会镀上铁(镀铁层),而镀铁层前段hi镀上锡(镀锡层),后端则会镀上抗氧化的铬。由于锡和铁同样属于高活动性的金属,所以他们很容易会结合成混合金属,特别是在高温的状态下。而且在焊接时所使用的助焊剂也是加速它们产生混合金属反应的催化剂。混合金属的产生速度会应不同的焊接温度而改变。温度越高,产生速度越快,特别是在400℃或以上的情况下更为明显。

进行焊接时,锡和铁会不断产生混合反应,而由于所产生的混合金属会从焊咀镀层表面剥落,因此焊咀镀层会逐渐被侵蚀掉,继而锡会很快速地侵蚀焊咀内的铜,最后会在很短时间内造成焊咀穿洞。

影响无铅烙铁头寿命的因素,延长寿命的方法
    不同成分的焊锡会对焊咀有不一样的侵蚀速度。上图表示:锡+0.7铜 对焊咀的侵蚀速度最快,然后是 锡+3.5银+0.75铜 ,锡+2银+0.75铜+3铋,而最后是锡+37铅。相比较传统的共晶焊锡(67/37焊锡),在400℃的焊接温度下,无铅焊锡:锡+3.5银+0.7铜,对焊咀的侵蚀速度要快3倍,而锡+0.7铜更加要快4倍。
■ 延长无铅烙铁头寿命方法
    1、使用无铅焊锡进行焊接作业时,由于对零件的耐热性,安全作业的考虑,烙铁咀的设定温度一般希望在350度-370度以下; 
    2、据电烙铁的不同焊接作业的不同,选择最合适的烙铁咀是很重要的。合适的烙铁咀可以降低烙铁咀的温度,增加作业的效率。
    3、与普通含水的海绵不同,需采用浸透助剂的金属丝,即不降低烙铁咀的温度,又可以起到清洁的作用,还可以除去烙铁咀表面的氧化物。尽可能设定烙铁咀的低温度。 
    4、10分钟以上不使用时,应切断电烙铁的电源。   
    5、烙铁咀氧化变黑时,首先用助焊剂的焊锡除去氧化物。如果不能除去时,先用浸。 
    6、透助剂的金属丝清洁器把表面的氧化物除去,然后涂上新的焊锡。
    除了侵蚀意外,无铅焊接还会加速焊咀氧化。虽然无铅焊点的形成所需要的温度比SnPb焊点高,但就业界通常的产能要求来说,没有必要通过提高烙铁的温度来实现无铅焊接;但是,需要改进加热器的控制,消除温度过冲,提高焊点的热传导效率,降低烙铁闲置温度。此外,还必须配合更优化的烙铁头形状以避免过高的温度,否则烙铁头将会加速腐蚀,从而增加烙铁头更换成本和停工时间。
   BEE吉美生产的烙铁头在电镀技术上达到了引进德国先进水平,质量飞跃提高。我们镀的铁层晶体结构细而密,全部电镀时间都在48小时以上。无铅烙铁咀具有耐高温抗氧化、耐腐蚀、寿命长、下锡快等优点。使用寿命达到6万焊点以上,使用时间一周以上。


  • QQ咨询

  • 淘宝

  • 1688

  • 淘宝

    长按,识别二维码
  • 1688

    长按,识别二维码